What I think every knitter should think about…

I’ve been knitting since I was about 8 years old, and those who know me know that has been a long time.  I handspin and do a little weaving too.  When I am teaching people to knit or spin the first thing I tell them:

 “Don’t use your teeth for tools” you would be amazed how many people hold needles in their mouth and snip thread

with their teeth. Trust me just don’t do it!  The next thing

“If you are going to spend your time, and talent on doing a project that you, or someone you love is going to live with for years, for goodness sake make it out of the best stuff you can get!” 

Just a thought;

The finer and more exotic the fibre the finer the yarn usually is, hence more valuable and more expensive.   That 1000+ yd ball of lace weight yarn at $25 that will make a wedding shawl and will provide hours of knitting pleasure, whereas a chunky acrylic 84 yd ball at $5, that will need 3+ balls can make a hat and scarf and be knit in a weekend. There is a place for both. I postulate that in any other area of our lives we comparison shop. Does this meet my needs with quality and value?  How much time am I investing in this and what will be its planned obsolescence, a season, a year, 5 or 10 years (I have socks I knit with really good stuff 10 years ago and with care I expect them to last another year or 2). You’d be asking these questions buying an appliance, why not when knitting a project?

I guess that I wish more people cruising the yarn aisles of  the big box stores would take a moment to think, am I knitting for my own enjoyment and/or to make something for those I love, including myself, do I know why I knit?  I would also observe that the people who seem to get the most pleasure out of knitting have answered these questions.

I know I have.

Leave a Reply

pastordawn

21st Century Progressive Christian Pastor

magpiyoga.wordpress.com/

My Life Off and On the Mat

kittenswithmittens20

Prevously known as Kittens with Mittens

#onlyinClarington

Clarington Tourism

woolgatheringwithbetsy

Indulging in the delights of spinning, dyeing and weaving, soap making and gardening

Work Even

An American Knitter in Bulgaria

Kindles and Wine

Readers. Drinkers. Reviewers.

The Cozy Knitter

beautiful handknits

Moments of Peace

Enjoying the little things in life.

stickgirlknits

Fashion and Hand Knits

alikelylass

Knitting, crochet, food, motherhood, and other general musings in my Likely Life.

Mlissabeth's Musings

six word stories, small stones, haiku, and other poems

reWOLLuzza

ReWOOLutionary Knits

