Gallery: Knit By The Dozen Socks, Designed by Susan Sedlak

Knit by the Dozen Socks by Susan Sedlak

Knit by the Dozen Socks by Susan Sedlak

I don’t know how many of these socks I have knit over the years. I guess I’m a bit of a rebel, I didn’t like the way toe-up socks are usually started. There must be a better simpler way.  I found it and never looked back. I knit socks primarily in commercial yarn but as a Handspinner, I find there is a finite amount of yarn for any given project. No matching dyelots or gauge! So with this in mind I developed this pattern. I divide the yarn into 2 approximately equal balls. The nice thing is I can knit any gauge as the sock is fit to the foot as I go. Most of my socks have the toes and heels made of a different but complementary colour. Socks can last for years if it is simple to take the heel or toe off and reknit it. I have pairs that are 10 and 15 yrs old!

Replacement of Heel or Toes:I just snip the heel or toe stitches carefully pick up the stitches around the edge of the heel or toe section (this is why complementary colours are handy!)  and knit from the foot to the end of the heel or toe using the basic pattern for the end of a mitten!  This opens nicely and hugs your heel.  

With 2 stitches at either side at the ankle bone (or either side of the toes) dec 4 st every other row, on each side of the 2 sts, to 16 stitches then graft together.

This beats tossing your treasured handmade socks due to wear and tear!

Well here is the pattern that I use most!

This will be the last toe-up sock pattern you will ever need. Clear instructions and pictures will guide you through the process, with suggestions and website references for techniques like Provisional Cast on, Russian Join and Short Rows. Learn some new and useful techniques.
Make a basic sock that will fit you or a loved one perfectly. As the title says knit one and you will knit them by the dozen! 

Find this pattern here

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Knitting: Finished in 2011- so far! « Kittens with Mittens

Leave a Reply

pastordawn

21st Century Progressive Christian Pastor

magpiyoga.wordpress.com/

My Life Off and On the Mat

kittenswithmittens20

Prevously known as Kittens with Mittens

#onlyinClarington

Clarington Tourism

woolgatheringwithbetsy

Indulging in the delights of spinning, dyeing and weaving, soap making and gardening

Work Even

An American Knitter in Bulgaria

Kindles and Wine

Readers. Drinkers. Reviewers.

The Cozy Knitter

beautiful handknits

Moments of Peace

Enjoying the little things in life.

stickgirlknits

Fashion and Hand Knits

alikelylass

Knitting, crochet, food, motherhood, and other general musings in my Likely Life.

Mlissabeth's Musings

six word stories, small stones, haiku, and other poems

reWOLLuzza

ReWOOLutionary Knits

