FO Friday: Simple Ridges, Hugs and Kisses and North and South.

Well this has been a busy week! I am amazed that anything got finished. Doctors, and tests. Every day this week had something. DH, myself and MiL have all had appointments. It is friday and as we speak I am at the Oshawa General Hospital helping my MiL through a CT scan. Her gallbladder has been stable since christmas. She has decided that this is all a nonsense, she doesn’t need surgery, leave me alone! Seeing the surgeon again next we to decide on a plan of action.

Simple Ridge Shawl: project 2-2012 / shawl 1-2012

In amongst all this activity I finally finished the Simple Ridges Shawl. For pattern details see my Ravelry page. As I stated on Wednesday, I don’t crochet (not for lack of trying) so I had to come up with a solution for the finished border.
Notes

This pattern actually calls for dk, however I wanted a heavier shawlette so used worsted. Easy to knit, my only complaint is I find it a bit webby, this problem would be even worse in dk which was recommended.

Edge CO 5 st Row1: k4, k2tog. Row2: k3, yo, k2 Row3: k5, k2tog (continue knitting alt rows with k2tog at shawl edge) Row4: k4, yo, k2 Row6: k5, yo, k2 Row8: k6, yo, k2 (9st) Row9: k8, k2tog Row10: k9 Row11: cast off 4 st, k4, k2tog

I am satisfied with the results, however I don’t think I would knit this pattern again, it is a little to simple for my tastes.

Sue’s Hugs and Kisses Socks

This pattern has been on the back burner for a while, hope you like it!

A FFO (Finally finished Object)

Book: North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell

( On ebook)

This is an old favourite, I have read it more times than I can count. Published in 1855, it is the story of Miss Margaret Hale the daughter of a Clergyman turned Private Tutor, her experiences and change of attitude.

She has been raised in London by her Aunt, and received an excellent education (not common at that time), polish and elegance that society brings and with her own good judgement, she returns home to her family. Her idyllic life in the New Forest (the south) is lost by her father’s disaffection with the church.

They remove to Milton, an Industrial town (the north).  She meets both the labourer and the manufacturer, leading to a broader understanding of both.

This book straddles the style of Jane Austen and Charles Dickens writings, as gentle, but more socially aware than the former, but less gritty than the later. There is romance and misunderstandings ala “Pride and Prejudice”, I have to admit I find Mr.Thornton a much more human character than Darcy!

 13 days and counting without stash enhancement!

That’s all for this week, thanks for visiting!

For more inspiring Finished Objects visit Tami’s Blog

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ginny
    Jan 13, 2012 @ 06:20:30

    Beautiful shawl love the colour. I keep trying to crochet. Last year granny squares this year – well just starting to learn ripple blanket, very frustrating!

    Reply

  2. chrisknits
    Jan 13, 2012 @ 08:29:42

    Lovely shawl. Must look that up. The socks are amazing!!!

    Reply

  3. Natalie
    Jan 13, 2012 @ 09:17:56

    The shawl is very pretty. Love the socks, they’re so cool!

    Reply

  4. Karen
    Jan 13, 2012 @ 13:04:57

    Your shawl is really pretty. I love the socks! They are gorgeous.
    I hope everything is OK with your MIL.

    Reply

  5. Sam
    Jan 13, 2012 @ 15:20:34

    Fab, fab, fab socks! Love them!

    Reply

  6. kitenswithmittens
    Jan 13, 2012 @ 15:53:40

    Thanks for the lovely compliments on the socks. I am rather pleased with them too :0)

    Reply

  7. Trackback: Wip Weds: I was naughty, sorta « Kittens with Mittens

Leave a Reply

pastordawn

21st Century Progressive Christian Pastor

magpiyoga.wordpress.com/

My Life Off and On the Mat

kittenswithmittens20

Prevously known as Kittens with Mittens

#onlyinClarington

Clarington Tourism

woolgatheringwithbetsy

Indulging in the delights of spinning, dyeing and weaving, soap making and gardening

Work Even

An American Knitter in Bulgaria

Kindles and Wine

Readers. Drinkers. Reviewers.

The Cozy Knitter

beautiful handknits

Moments of Peace

Enjoying the little things in life.

stickgirlknits

Fashion and Hand Knits

alikelylass

Knitting, crochet, food, motherhood, and other general musings in my Likely Life.

Mlissabeth's Musings

six word stories, small stones, haiku, and other poems

reWOLLuzza

ReWOOLutionary Knits

