WIP Weds: WIP Round Up and the Jar!

Public Service Annnouncement: Gentle reminder this Sunday is Spring Forward, add an hour to your clock!

Good Morning all! (Imagine sunny smile + Wave ) It’s wednesday, the weather is more spring like and the sun is trying to make an appearance. 

This week began eventfully, and as my facebook followers will tell you, my DH and DS where delighted with our new arrival. They went to the electronics adoption centre and brought home a gynormous big screen Television, and like any proud parents, have been watching it constantly!  Willow really enjoyed the box. Sad to say technology does nothing for me…

I have been considering (this always makes my guys nervous), looking at my numerous WIP’s I decided to collect them into one clear bag so they could stare at me and shame me into action… well that’s the plan! 

Round Up

The Round up list:

  1. Walk for Shetland by Anna Szymanowska  test knitting the english Ver.
  2. Because of Love Beret (March carry along forum project)
  3. Small Lace Bag (March carry along forum project)
  4. Soper Creek Yarn Challenge – Top secret project!
  5. Abigail Vest
  6. Hill Walking Socks (design in test knit stage)
  7. Pine Forest blanket
  8. Immie Blanket
  9. Cosy Winter Shawl (design in test knit stage)
  10. Roarin Cloche (resisting this felted project)
  11. Beryl Blanket (Long term scrap project)

 The jar you may ask, well at “Knittin Club” last Weds night, TB (a friend and yarnie) had a big jar and was starting a scrap fibre collection. This idea purcolated in my mind and I wondered what a year of my scraps would look like, and how much it would weigh…The Jar – A year of scraps! March 2012

The Jar

Challenge: show your Jar, how full will it be a year from now?

Books: This weeks review is a knitting book! I have had this one for some time (1986). I pulled it out for a knitting lesson last week, and thought you might like it.  “Knitting in Plain English” by Maggie Righetti, this is a great primer on knitting. Imagine your best knitting teacher ever, and a loving grandma helping with your knitting! I have been knitting forever, but I sometimes catch myself quoting a Righetti to my classes… Thanks Maggie for writing this book!        Yup that good and amusing too :0)

FO’s 2012 = 12

Patterns from my own Library = 3

WIP’s 2012 = 8 + 3 = 11

Stash used =  15 + 2 = 17

Stash Purchased 2012 = 15 + 1 = 16

Books = 12 + 1 = 13

Visit Tami’s blog, Keep Calm and craft on, Knit happy and Yarn along for more really neat stuff!

Well TTFN, see ya Friday all being well.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. nothingbutknit2
    Mar 07, 2012 @ 10:01:22

    I love the idea of a year of scraps. I can’t wait to see how full your jar is.
    Enjoy your TV. It will be great to watch while crafting:)

    Reply

  2. Natalie Buehler (@Marigoldsloft)
    Mar 07, 2012 @ 11:46:04

    I will join you in the jar for scraps. I will start today and post it on my blog as I think that can be really interesting to see how much we don’t use, and I have an empty jar that I was wondering what to do with 😀 so thanks for that, will meet again jar in blog so to speak.

    x

    Reply

  3. Jessica Snell
    Mar 07, 2012 @ 12:15:29

    Hey! Finally someone who has more WIPs than me! (I have seven right now, and I think most people think I’m crazy.)

    Reply

  4. Minding My Own Stitches
    Mar 07, 2012 @ 13:49:17

    I read on another blog about someone with 50 wips, so don’t feel too bad. DaffyCat runs a TUSAL – totally useless stitch along – on her blog where participants collect their scraps in a jar and then post every new moon. It’s kind of fun. DH thinks I should spit-splice all my scraps to make a pair of socks in a merino/nylon/spit blend. LOL.

    Reply

  5. Shannon Breen (@TheWardensLog)
    Mar 07, 2012 @ 17:13:19

    I don’t dare weigh my scrap yarn. If my husband saw how much gets “wasted” it would make him wonder how much I spent on all those skeins. 😉

    Reply

  6. Connie
    Mar 07, 2012 @ 23:44:11

    I too put all my WIPs in clear plastic bags. Alas, they do not shame me and I add to them willy nilly, but at least I can see what I have and grab whichever one I feel like working on at the moment.

    I love your jar – I actually started mine on January 1st just to see what I would have at the end of a year :o)

    Reply

  7. Natalie
    Mar 08, 2012 @ 21:32:57

    I like your jar of scraps…mine is a basket…but the deadline is looming because we are actually going to spread the scraps out on our evergreen tree for bird-nest making season. It is always fun to find my scraps of yarn in the bird’s nests all over the neighbourhood. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

pastordawn

21st Century Progressive Christian Pastor

magpiyoga.wordpress.com/

My Life Off and On the Mat

kittenswithmittens20

Prevously known as Kittens with Mittens

#onlyinClarington

Clarington Tourism

woolgatheringwithbetsy

Indulging in the delights of spinning, dyeing and weaving, soap making and gardening

Work Even

An American Knitter in Bulgaria

Kindles and Wine

Readers. Drinkers. Reviewers.

The Cozy Knitter

beautiful handknits

Moments of Peace

Enjoying the little things in life.

stickgirlknits

Fashion and Hand Knits

alikelylass

Knitting, crochet, food, motherhood, and other general musings in my Likely Life.

Mlissabeth's Musings

six word stories, small stones, haiku, and other poems

reWOLLuzza

ReWOOLutionary Knits

