WIP Weds: I need to go on a YARN DIET!

My long-suffering Hubby gently informed me that my yarn acquisition has greatly exceeded my consumption in the last week. What with DKC Knitfrolic (12 balls of hard to find lace weight) and the Maplefest yarn sale at Soper Creek Yarns (9 balls – 8-50gm balls of 4 basic colours of regia sock, and 1 Ball Vintage Color for Puerperium Cardigan) maybe 21 balls is a little much He was really very nice about it. He supposed I was preparing for the fibre famine of 2013, when all the sheep will go on strike and take the other fibres into hiding with them… he did smile when he said it.  So I am attempting to go on another yarn diet.

No more purchases till I have knitted at least 21 balls of yarn…

Yup, I’m off to a flying start with new baby just arrived and May Carry along forum in full swing, I am one busy Bee!

Working on Wingspan for the May Carry along Forum

Wingspan: 5 of 8 points done!

Have yarn for Chinook scarf for the May Carry along Forum

James C Brett Woodlander Dk for “Chinook Scarf”

 and Puerperium Cardigan for baby Jackson.

Puerperium Cardigan for Jackson, knit in worsted on 4.5mm

This weeks book: I just love Lynsay Sands sense of humour, and this book is no exception!  Another Argeneau Family story, the family tries to help Christian find a mate by telling her he is gay… needless to say things get complicated for him! The Argeneau family is based in Toronto Canada which also appeals to me, although this one takes place in St Lucia. Highly recommend this series if you are a fan of Paranormal Romance (my guilty vice :0)

Update Current WIP List

FO’s 2012 =  24

Patterns from my own Library = 5

WIP’s 2012 = 8 + 1 = 9

Stash used 2012 =  33

Yarn Diet target (21)

Stash Purchased 2012 = 45 + 9 = 54

Beryl Blanket Hexes = 46

Books = 15 + 1 = 16

links for my blogwalk join me in the blogpond :0)

WIP Weds and Friday’s at Tami’s

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. collegeknitting
    May 09, 2012 @ 08:25:46

    Good luck with the diet! 12 is a very respectable, but perfectly do-able number, especially if you’re making a sweater with 50g skeins 😉

    Reply

  2. Underground Crafter
    May 09, 2012 @ 12:09:27

    I hope these are small skeins or you have some huge projects planned because 21 is a lot! (I did use about 45 skeins for a blanket I made recently, so it is possible).

    Reply

  3. Minding My Own Stitches
    May 09, 2012 @ 15:23:17

    Your wingspan looks fabulous. Each point a bit different but still consistent with the previous point. I’ve been on a yarn diet forever, but it’s definitely working! And it is a kind of fun challenge to figure out what each stashed yarn is meant to be!

    Reply

  4. anjig
    May 09, 2012 @ 16:34:07

    Very pretty Wingspan – it’s a really popular pattern

    Reply

  5. Andrea Morrison (@wonderwhygal)
    May 10, 2012 @ 06:20:55

    Haha, I tried something similar but I vowed not to buy anymore sock yarn until I used some of it up. I totally get it.

    Reply

  6. kitenswithmittens
    May 10, 2012 @ 14:22:12

    So far so good! :0)

    Reply

  7. Shannon
    May 10, 2012 @ 16:03:16

    Oh my – I know all about the Yarn Diet! I was doing great for a few months and then fell off the wagon :-O

    Reply

  8. Hannah
    May 10, 2012 @ 21:23:53

    Reply

Leave a Reply

pastordawn

21st Century Progressive Christian Pastor

magpiyoga.wordpress.com/

My Life Off and On the Mat

kittenswithmittens20

Prevously known as Kittens with Mittens

#onlyinClarington

Clarington Tourism

woolgatheringwithbetsy

Indulging in the delights of spinning, dyeing and weaving, soap making and gardening

Work Even

An American Knitter in Bulgaria

Kindles and Wine

Readers. Drinkers. Reviewers.

The Cozy Knitter

beautiful handknits

Moments of Peace

Enjoying the little things in life.

stickgirlknits

Fashion and Hand Knits

alikelylass

Knitting, crochet, food, motherhood, and other general musings in my Likely Life.

Mlissabeth's Musings

six word stories, small stones, haiku, and other poems

reWOLLuzza

ReWOOLutionary Knits

