WIP Weds: Five reasons to join a Kal group :0)

Wednesday again, I hope you had a lovely weekend. I have come down with a nasty cold. The usual suspects, runny nose and eyes, and plenty of sneezing.  Jack finds my nose fascinating and Willow has been sleeping on my bed, keeping me company.

Luckily summer coughs usually don’t last long.

The upside is more knitting time!

Last february I joined the Carry Along Kal forum on Ravelry.com. Since then I have completed 9 projects with them. 

  1. Wingspan KAL May
  2. Chinook scarf KAL May
  3. Untangled #9 KAL Jul

Currently working on Knitting In Nature Beaded Moebius KAL Jul

Stash: King cole Wicked dk

Willow inspection of Knitting in Nature Beaded Moebius

Knitting in Nature Beaded Moebius

The 5 reasons to join a Kal group

  • Even if you can find a local knitting group, an online group offers constant support, ideas and encouragement.
  • The group I am a member of, votes for 3 possible projects each month. So there is flexiblity about how many and which ones you want to do. There are also special projects like teamcarryalongkalgals2012 for the ravellenic2012
  • I have found patterns I would not normally do, like the Chinook scarf. I don’t usually work in Dk yarn.
  • I have learned some new techniques. Mimi Kezer moebius cast-on which was easier than first exspected.
  • To encourage and support others, and see their efforts.

I have really enjoyed being a member of this Kal and recommend it to anyone that knits!

Books: Just finished another Nero Wolfe by Rex Stout

Triple Jeopardy

Three short stories: Home to Roost, The Cop Killer, anf The Spuirt and the Monkey.  I had not read this one before, and really enjoyed it. I seem to be on a Nero Wolfe jones lately, not sure which I will read next.

FO’s 2012 =  46 + 2 = 48

Patterns from my own Library = 5

WIP’s 2012 = 9 – 2 = 7

Stash used 2012 =  56 + 2 = 58

Stash Purchased 2012 = 69

Beryl Blanket Hexes =  48

Books = 19 + 1 = 20

Take Care and cya friday

for links to my blogwalk  come join me in the blogpond :0)

WIP Weds and Friday’s at Tami’s

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nicole Spring
    Jul 11, 2012 @ 11:02:40

    Hmmm, I think I need to join more KALs! I have only done one,(my shalom) and it was online.

    Reply

  2. Natalie Buehler (@Marigoldsloft)
    Jul 11, 2012 @ 13:29:34

    I must agree, Online KALs help you to get out of your comfort zone and get things finished 😀

    Reply

  3. Christina
    Jul 11, 2012 @ 22:34:57

    Your moebius looks gorgeous! Loving that yarn. It is really beautiful. Cannot wait to see it finished.

    Reply

  4. SusanD1408 crochet addict
    Jul 12, 2012 @ 05:14:12

    Love the yarn!!! The colours are fantastic!

    Reply

  5. Trackback: My Homepage

Leave a Reply

pastordawn

21st Century Progressive Christian Pastor

magpiyoga.wordpress.com/

My Life Off and On the Mat

kittenswithmittens20

Prevously known as Kittens with Mittens

#onlyinClarington

Clarington Tourism

woolgatheringwithbetsy

Indulging in the delights of spinning, dyeing and weaving, soap making and gardening

Work Even

An American Knitter in Bulgaria

Kindles and Wine

Readers. Drinkers. Reviewers.

The Cozy Knitter

beautiful handknits

Moments of Peace

Enjoying the little things in life.

stickgirlknits

Fashion and Hand Knits

alikelylass

Knitting, crochet, food, motherhood, and other general musings in my Likely Life.

Mlissabeth's Musings

six word stories, small stones, haiku, and other poems

reWOLLuzza

ReWOOLutionary Knits

