FO Friday: Contemplation on the “To do list”.

 Mixed martial arts and crafts posed, what I feel is a very important question last week. Refering to a post by The Underground crafter about reconsidering the list of people on your list that are given Handmade gifts. I have given this a lot of thought. With 2 months to Christmas I am reviewing my gift giving.

Over the last few years I have attempted the impossible, a little something for everyone. Looking back, I was spending most of my year working on lovely stuff that some of my loved ones never wear, or value. In examining my feelings on the matter, I have decided this doesn’t hurt my feelings, but it does make me sad. Maybe if these people received only the occasional handmade gift it would hold more meaning.

There are some thickies in my family tree who see this kind of a gift as cheap, handmade equals more junk for the back of the closet or drawer, needless to say these people are the first to go off my list, gift cards I think.

So in attempt to rationalize the list, I am going to trim it down and reconsider the size and amount of time, and money I am investing in this endeavour. After all this is supposed to be for the pleasure of making and giving!

I have decided to give priority to those closest to me. I cannot show the gifts yet as those who will receive them read my blog on occasion.

The still to make for list:

My DH and DS both are very pleased to receive that little parcel of handmade specialness :0) (maybe more than one gift each)

My Mother is a crafter and gets it (medium gift, I already give her handmade on almost every occasion)

My Father tries, but it must be useful and come with a book. (so something small)

My Brother and SIL, I have come to the conclusion the one handmade item between them will work best.

My BiL really appreciated the Handspun hat I made him a few years ago. (occasional gift list)

Maybe list

My MiL doesn’t really want a gift at all and tends to put them in a drawer… (purchase something special)

Niece – Occassional list

Nephew – purchase something special

Bumped off the list

Thickies in my family tree who don’t get it! (this covers a few people)

Ready for the Bazaar tomorrow!

Book of the week: Water Bound by Christine Feehan

Another of the Sea Haven novels that began with the Drake sisters. Rather good read.

This weeks Music: “Bailero” – Sung by Netania Davrath

FO’s 2012 = 59

Patterns from my own Library = 6

WIP’s 2012 = 4

Stash used 2012 =  67 (this FO used left overs)

Beryl Blanket Hexes =  48

Books =  32 + 1 = 33

Thanks again for visiting,

cya next week

WIP Weds and Friday’s at Tami’s

For links to my blogwalk come join me in the blogpond :0)

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Andrea Morrison (@wonderwhygal)
    Oct 26, 2012 @ 06:16:31

    I know what you mean. I’ve been reanalyzing my list too and also looking at who got the “big knit gift” over the last few years. I’d rather sell some of the items then have them just sitting in a drawer somewhere not being loved.

    Reply

  2. Underground Crafter
    Oct 26, 2012 @ 08:11:27

    I think ultimately making gifts has to bring you pleasure in some way – it shouldn’t be a huge chore. Cutting down your list may help you feel better about the gifts you make and the recipients, too :). Thanks for the link back.

    Reply

  3. Kathryn | Alpacamundo
    Oct 26, 2012 @ 18:19:15

    The truth is, at least in my experience, most people are not knit worthy.

    It used to hurt my feelings but there are enough who really appreciate hand-made and have even requested hand-made… which makes it so much more enjoyable… to make and gift.

    Of course the other truth is, I was not always knit worthy. But now it’s my favorite sort of gift to be given.

    Reply

  4. Sara
    Oct 29, 2012 @ 16:59:28

    I’m right there next to you. I’ve re-evaluated my handmade gift giving list as well after a couple experiences with my husbands family where my hard work and thought went completely unnoticed and basically rejected. I’ll be honest, it did hurt my feelings. My mom, on the other hand LOVES the things I make her, so it’s always a pleasure coming up with something to make her. Unfortunately, this year, my crafting time is pretty much all consumed by making 2 large blankets for a friend for her family for Christmas…then I’ve already got requests for items for my 7 year old and my husband.

    Reply

  5. Trackback: WIP Wed: Another week in the life… « Kittens with Mittens
  6. Trackback: FO Friday: Gifty things « Kittens with Mittens

Leave a Reply

pastordawn

21st Century Progressive Christian Pastor

magpiyoga.wordpress.com/

My Life Off and On the Mat

kittenswithmittens20

Prevously known as Kittens with Mittens

#onlyinClarington

Clarington Tourism

woolgatheringwithbetsy

Indulging in the delights of spinning, dyeing and weaving, soap making and gardening

Work Even

An American Knitter in Bulgaria

Kindles and Wine

Readers. Drinkers. Reviewers.

The Cozy Knitter

beautiful handknits

Moments of Peace

Enjoying the little things in life.

stickgirlknits

Fashion and Hand Knits

alikelylass

Knitting, crochet, food, motherhood, and other general musings in my Likely Life.

Mlissabeth's Musings

six word stories, small stones, haiku, and other poems

reWOLLuzza

ReWOOLutionary Knits

