How to Celebrate Christmas…NOT!

My mother painted this porceline Nativity set many years ago. I sits on the mantle every Christmas season

My mother painted this porcelain Nativity set many years ago. I sits on the mantle every Christmas season

I just got over the sniffles, yay!

After of 28 years of marriage, I have spent 21 (now 22yrs) being sick or damaged at Christmas.

I was feeling good, and a little sassy. Nasty cold behind me.

  • house clean and tidy, check
  • the tree was trimmed, check,
  • the food was purchased for the Christmas eve feast, check,
  • Dessert purchased for Christmas day Supper, check
  • Gifts made and purchased, check
  • parcels wrapped, check,
  • stocking stuffers stuffed, check.
  • Good nights sleep, check

o

Get up in the morning, shower, dress, looking good, feeling better.

Proceed down the stairs…

Fall down the stairs!

Emergency trip to clinic, wait, wait, wait,

(did I say I had people coming for dinner?)

Trip to Hospital, X-rays, wait, wait, wait, wait

(did I say I had people coming for dinner??)

Emergency dept to see another Doctor, wait, wait, wait, wait, wait.

(did I say I had people coming for dinner??? panic was setting in!)

Finally Doctor, the place was really busy, and boy did I have pain!

Loads of soft tissue damage to Right shoulder Rotator cuff and Right knee.

Upside nothing broken,

Downside feel like I fell downstairs, and got run over by a bus!

This is what happens when you step around a sleeping Cat!

DH was wonderful, finished up all the little things that needed doing, cooked roast beef dinner with all the trimmings, which was wonderful, and cleaned up.

Then we all went off to midnight Communion at Church. Somehow I felt a little better celebrating Christmas by going to Church. Not my best idea, but this is the part of Christmas that means the most to me, my family all together at church Christmas eve.  The evening was magical, as we left Church the snowflakes were sparkling in the lamp light, dancing in the air. It had begun to snow.

In the morning we had our own little family Christmas, DS, DH, myself and the furry children. Willow and Jack really enjoyed their “Marinated Mice” (toy mice in a container of catnip)

Then packed up parcels and headed over to my families for lunch.

The Tree at Mom and Dad's

The Tree at Mom and Dad’s

Everyone else arrived for dinner. Lovely visit with everyone!  My brother and his family were sorely missed, as my nephew was not fit to travel from the states after his knee surgery. Maybe next year…

This year everyone received a knitted something, scarves, socks, and washcloths. This was last years New Years resolution! Everyone was very happy with their gifts :0)

DH and DS gave me some lovely knitting related gifts

F

and some patterns

I intend to knit both of these this year!

I intend to knit both of these this year!

and

BiL gave me a knitting book (well $ to purchase one)

received bunch of dvd’s, (Casablanca, Gone with the wind, Singin in the rain, A streetcar named desire, Dr Zhivago, Showboat, Anne get your Gun, Kiss me Kate and Seven Brides for Seven Brothers) the family knows I have a thing for old movies. :0)

MiL gave me a Koboglow, not sure how it works yet.

and a set of new everyday dishes, from Mom and Dad. Our original set is looking a little dog-eared, what is left of it.

Well it is Boxing Day, and the guys dragged me into every Electronic store and I nodded and smiled, about gigs and ram and rpg, then they took me to lunch, so fun was had by all.

I am healing up but still pretty uncomfortable.

I want to thank everyone for making this Christmas a merry one in spite of everything.

Wishing everyone a Happy New Year!

Thanks again for visiting,

cya Next Year

I’m off to visit Tami’s, then on to my blogwalk

come join me in the blogpond :0)

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nancy
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 08:03:26

    Unbelievable! What a crummy way to spend the holiday in the ER. 22 out of 28 Christmases sick? You poor baby. You are doing wwaaayy too much!! Fun reading.

    Reply

  2. kitenswithmittens
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 10:40:38

    It has been crazy, painful, but weirdly…Fun!

    Reply

  3. AllyB
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 10:56:43

    Glad you survived the holiday if not in perfect condition physically, it sounds like you enjoyed your family. Hope you’re in tip top shape real soon. Take care of yourself.

    Reply

  4. IsabelJazmín Ángeles (@JazzBruno)
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 15:17:04

    Get well soon!

    Happy Holidays!

    Reply

  5. Andrea Morrison (@wonderwhygal)
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 20:49:30

    ooooh, what a way to spend Christmas. Hopefully you have some time to rest up and let your body mend…maybe start on one of those new patterns. Happy New Year!

    Reply

  6. Trackback: List of Knitting Books Reviewed « Kittens with Mittens

Leave a Reply

pastordawn

21st Century Progressive Christian Pastor

magpiyoga.wordpress.com/

My Life Off and On the Mat

kittenswithmittens20

Prevously known as Kittens with Mittens

#onlyinClarington

Clarington Tourism

woolgatheringwithbetsy

Indulging in the delights of spinning, dyeing and weaving, soap making and gardening

Work Even

An American Knitter in Bulgaria

Kindles and Wine

Readers. Drinkers. Reviewers.

The Cozy Knitter

beautiful handknits

Moments of Peace

Enjoying the little things in life.

stickgirlknits

Fashion and Hand Knits

alikelylass

Knitting, crochet, food, motherhood, and other general musings in my Likely Life.

Mlissabeth's Musings

six word stories, small stones, haiku, and other poems

reWOLLuzza

ReWOOLutionary Knits

