WIP Weds: Stashbuster and Funny Story

tami_wip
I was just thinking over what I had to say this week.  I really didn’t have that much to say. Then this happened and I had to share.
Well jack made me laugh and I mean really laugh. Willow went to the Vet last week, and we were told that she is turning into a basket case because of Jack. He sees her as a mobile cat toy. So yesterday I began a program of incarceration for assault on Willows. Every time he made her hiss and or jumped on her, I stuffed him in the cat carrier. I tracked him all over the house and in he went. This went on all day. Just before I sat down to do the finishing touches to my post, he was at it again. I got up, he looked at me (kinda shrugged) and headed straight to the carrier, walked inside, turned around and waited for me to shut the door. He knew he had been naughty. At 8 months old he’s pretty smart. I somehow think that this approach to discipline is not having the desired effect…Rofl!
WANTED: Lucky Jack AKA Jack - for willow assault, repeat offender.

WANTED: Lucky Jack AKA Jack – for willow assault, repeat offender.

One of my New Years resolutions #6 is to use up more stash, so I have been looking for useful little projects for leftovers. Just love this one, and it is a great carry along project!
Yarn Ball Cozy by Kerstin Geiger a very useful, freebie pattern.
I use this large mug, to rangle the little ball of yarn. I pass the ball through the handle.

I use this large mug, to rangle the little ball of yarn. I pass the ball through the handle.

This is a Large one, I think I’ll be making a few more. They come in to sizes, one for 100gm and one for 50gm balls of yarn.

The Large one takes about 14gms Small one about 12gms of fingering or sock yarn

My knitting mug, and Willow who has no interest in knitting unlike Jack.

My knitting mug, and Willow who has no interest in knitting unlike Jack. I think she just looks at this as a peaceful place where Jack won’t bug her, and she likes me of course.

Keeps centre pull balls in order right down to the bitter end.

Pure and Simple Top Down Swing Pullover
I continue to work away on my sweater. When I started the next ball I went back and knitted the Neck edging and darned in the ends. Once I complete the rest of this ball on the Body of the sweater, I will go back with a fresh ball and work the sleeves, Then tuck them inside the body and continue with what remains of the yarn to whatever length the torso will be. I have 7 skeins, this should tell me if I need another. I usually knit much finer yarn, so this is working up very quickly and the yarn is lovely and soft.
The actual colour is more indigo.

The actual colour is more indigo.

Did you see this on Ravelry: I am going to start linking things I see on Rav that appeal to me and that you might have missed. This week, Biscotte’s sheeps – Les moutons de Biscotte Socks by Louise Robert aren’t they gorgeous, I am going to knit these someday!

My current WIPS

Music Link: Tomás Luis de Victoria  music from the 16th century Spanish Counter-Reformation. This is a BBC4 program, an over view of his works. I spent sometime in my youth in Spain and visited Avila, where he was from. Truly lovely! 

FO’s 2013 = 0

WIPS 2013 = 8 + 1 = 9

Stash Used 2013 = 0

Books 2013 = 3

Thanks again for visiting,

cya Friday

I’m off to visit Tami’s, then on to my blogwalk

come join me in the blogpond :0)

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. emma
    Jan 09, 2013 @ 10:53:33

    Hee hee cats are so funny! I’d have a houseful of them if my hubby wasn’t allergic.
    You have a lot of projects going on! good luck.

    Reply

  2. Janet
    Jan 09, 2013 @ 11:01:04

    Your story about Jack’s discipline made me laugh. I like your plan for the pullover. Since I have limited yardage, I may try the same thing for the sleeves on my cardigan. Love the sheep socks too.

    Reply

  3. Jen Letts
    Jan 09, 2013 @ 11:40:10

    Jack is too funny! And those socks you linked to? Amaaaaaazing!

    Reply

  4. kitenswithmittens
    Jan 09, 2013 @ 13:17:44

    I think i’m going to add the Rav link as a regular feature. I see so many cool ideas, but not enough time to make them all. Pattern surfing is so much fun!

    Reply

  5. alikelylass
    Jan 09, 2013 @ 21:45:09

    Who says you can’t train cats! They’re beautiful. Love the idea for the cup too, will definitely use that in future.

    Reply

  6. milahshandcrafts
    Jan 09, 2013 @ 22:29:02

    I love your cat! My son did a very simular thing whenhe was two whenI was trying to make him eat his veggies. Stick with it, it”ll sink in a a while. Nice idea with the mugs. I’m posting a tutorial (hopefully tomorrow) about a cheap inexpensive way to carry my yarn. I tend to crochet out and about. I enjoyed your blog. Take care!
    Michelle

    Reply

  7. Lisa
    Jan 12, 2013 @ 03:33:28

    What a funny story! I am using the cat carrier method to “train” my two kittens to stay off the counter. So far, they are learning to run from me when I catch them up there, so maybe it’s starting to work….previously, they would come flying from wherever they were to leap onto the counter every time I entered the kitchen. I’m keeping it up, though, so maybe soon they’ll get the idea…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

pastordawn

21st Century Progressive Christian Pastor

magpiyoga.wordpress.com/

My Life Off and On the Mat

kittenswithmittens20

Prevously known as Kittens with Mittens

#onlyinClarington

Clarington Tourism

woolgatheringwithbetsy

Indulging in the delights of spinning, dyeing and weaving, soap making and gardening

Work Even

An American Knitter in Bulgaria

Kindles and Wine

Readers. Drinkers. Reviewers.

The Cozy Knitter

beautiful handknits

Moments of Peace

Enjoying the little things in life.

stickgirlknits

Fashion and Hand Knits

alikelylass

Knitting, crochet, food, motherhood, and other general musings in my Likely Life.

Mlissabeth's Musings

six word stories, small stones, haiku, and other poems

reWOLLuzza

ReWOOLutionary Knits

