DIY: Darning and mending socks

knitting with cat

I knit a lot of socks people, so when one breaks…

Which never happens to my socks, (but does happen to my guyz socks) out comes the Darning kit and repairs ensue.

Here are some good tutorials!

Thank you Knitpicks and Susan B. Anderson

– Introduction to Sock Darning 

Swiss darning Part 1 and 2 (using a sewing needle to replicate knit stitches)

Picking up and knitting a patch Part 1 and 2 (see tutorial for Grafting)

Filling the Hole Part 1 and 2 (another needle method)

Repairing Toes (knit method)

Susan B. Anderson’s Traditional woven method 

Clear as mud?

What do I do, to replace toes?

This is my preference.

Same method works for short row or inserted heels. Good reason to use these methods. Most toes can be repaired using a variation of this method.

Same method works for short row or inserted heels. Good reason to use these methods. Most toes can be repaired using a variation of this method.

I restart the toes by picking up all the stitches before the toe decreases begin. Then I tear back the yarn of the sock to my first needle stitch and reknit the sock toe! 

Open up heel and reknit.

Open up heel and reknit.

For short row and inserted heels, basically same thing!  

Enormous advantage to having heels and toes in different coordinating colour!

Enormous advantage to having heels and toes in different coordinating colour!

Good Luck :0)

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sarah
    Feb 26, 2015 @ 21:56:06

    I haven’t made socks in quite a long time but you are making me want to go back to it for sure! Thank you for sharing!

    Reply

  2. thesoaringsheep
    Feb 27, 2015 @ 15:56:05

    I keep wearing through my knitted socks in the middle of the foot, not the toe or the heel. The first pair was from just wool yarn so I thought maybe it wasn’t lasting very well because it had no nylon in it. The next pair had nylon and both feet have holes in. I think I need to get some slippers :-S

    Reply

  3. Jayne
    Feb 27, 2015 @ 17:28:40

    I’m the same – my socks wear out on the base of the foot. Thanks for sharing all this useful info – so great to have it all in one spot. I just love your sock drawer!

    Reply

    • kitenswithmittens
      Feb 27, 2015 @ 17:58:35

      That’s an old picture of my sock drawer… It has now turned into the family sock bucket. All three of us go fishing in it. And yes my guys wear whatever colour I make, even pink! Well not all pink, but with some pink, green, purple, orange…

      Reply

  4. chrisknits
    Feb 27, 2015 @ 18:46:52

    Good point. And I love the look of the contrast anyway. But, I don’t knit socks anymore!

    Reply

    • kitenswithmittens
      Feb 27, 2015 @ 21:46:53

      I knit way too many. Always another foot that needs dressing in our family. I find knitting socks as a great small carry along project. I always have a plain pair and a fancy pair on the go.

      Reply

  5. NinnyNoodleNoo
    Feb 28, 2015 @ 08:35:57

    Very inspiring! This is my concern with knitting socks – how to fix them when they (inevitably) eventually wear through.

    Reply

    • kitenswithmittens
      Feb 28, 2015 @ 11:47:23

      If you use the real sock yarn… 75% wool/ 25% nylon they will last for years and years. I am still wearing a pair I made 25 yrs ago! I have to admit, I always wear slippers, and I never introduce them to the dryer. They are always hung to dry. Only my guys, who believe dancing on concrete is what socks are made for, need repairs, and their socks are around 10yrs old. The trick is Invest in the best yarn!

      Reply

  6. Andrea Morrison
    Mar 05, 2015 @ 19:09:40

    Sorry it took so long to visit. I hate darning. I have a pair I need to fix and they sit there taunting me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

pastordawn

21st Century Progressive Christian Pastor

magpiyoga.wordpress.com/

My Life Off and On the Mat

kittenswithmittens20

Prevously known as Kittens with Mittens

#onlyinClarington

Clarington Tourism

woolgatheringwithbetsy

Indulging in the delights of spinning, dyeing and weaving, soap making and gardening

Work Even

An American Knitter in Bulgaria

Kindles and Wine

Readers. Drinkers. Reviewers.

The Cozy Knitter

beautiful handknits

Moments of Peace

Enjoying the little things in life.

stickgirlknits

Fashion and Hand Knits

alikelylass

Knitting, crochet, food, motherhood, and other general musings in my Likely Life.

Mlissabeth's Musings

six word stories, small stones, haiku, and other poems

reWOLLuzza

ReWOOLutionary Knits

