WIP Weds: Something a little different!

Yesterday, got a clean bill of health, after having every test known to women! Ok, have to watch the bacon consumption, but otherwise, right as rain… not bad at 19 years with cancer!

Well another busy Wednesday! Craft Group at the church, lunch with the girls, maybe a nap, and Knittin Club in the evening.

But first I better post my work in progress. It started out like any other project… sort of a dark and stormy night story. Choose the pattern Abigail by Cheri Christian, been looking at this one for awhile. It has been several years since I knit myself a sweater, so I thought start with a vest. One of my resolutions was to do more and larger projects, this looked like a good beginning.

Purchased Northern Worsted, began by assembling my new Nova’s, unfortunately the ones needed had a burr in the screw that attached them to the needle. So quick trip to LYS for cheerful exchange of needle tips.  Needles fixed cast on and began to knit, 1/3 of the yoke done and very 5 yds or so there were little picks in the yarn. At this point most sensible people realize there is a message here! However I forged on, hoping that this was only a little of the ball, 2/3’s of a ball later, but nope. Had to frog it and start all over. So back to LYS who cheerly exchanged disappointing yarn (which I am sure was a one off as I have used this yarn many times before), and to figure something else out.

Berroco Vintage Heathered Purple

Not wanting to take any more chances, I went to my fall back yarn Berocco Vintage, just love this stuff, and to smooth the ruffled feathers decided on favourite colour purple. Things are now going much better! I am almost back to where I was. I guess I should have listened to my knitting instincts to begin with.

Abigail Vest

For those who have been following the Three Tams progress, A and B are done and C is on the way, maybe next week. I needed a break and couldn’t decide what colour to make the last one.

This weeks book report: Began reading “The Haunted Monastery and The Chinese Maze Murders” by Robert van Gulik, Books #6 and #2, another six murder mysteries solved by Judge Dee. Published in 1961 and 1950.

Well hope you have all had a lovely Valentines day with the people you love. My sweetheart and I are going out for dinner later, and he bought me a romantic movie which he promised to watch with me :0) Find pattern here.

Little heart made for my sweetheart, he loved it!

FO’s 2012 = 9

WIP’s 2012 = 7

Stash used = 13

Stash Purchased 2012 = 10

Books = 10

Hop over to Tami’s blog Frontier Dreams and Yarn along for more amazing stuff!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nicky
    Feb 15, 2012 @ 09:35:42

    wow youve been busy.
    glad to hear you’re well

    Reply

  2. chrisknits
    Feb 15, 2012 @ 10:10:32

    Seems that vest did not want to be knit with that yarn. LOL! I love Vintage!!! Can’t wait to see progress.

    Reply

  3. Minding My Own Stitches
    Feb 15, 2012 @ 10:37:33

    Congrats on your clean bill of health! Good news like that is always reassuring! Love the way that heathered purple knits up.

    Reply

  4. Jen Letts
    Feb 15, 2012 @ 15:05:59

    That purple is divine! It knits up so nicely too…

    Reply

  5. Alisa
    Feb 15, 2012 @ 18:51:33

    beautiful purple yarn!! and I love that little heart!!

    Reply

  6. jncl
    Feb 15, 2012 @ 21:11:04

    I just love the little knit hearts. They’re so adorable and cheery.

    Reply

  7. Shannon
    Feb 16, 2012 @ 17:24:45

    Congratulations on the clean bill of health! The Abigail pattern looks lovely!

    Reply

Leave a comment

pastordawn BEYOND CHURCH

progressive visions of christianity beyond church

magpiyoga.wordpress.com/

My Life Off and On the Mat

kittenswithmittens20

Prevously known as Kittens with Mittens

woolgatheringwithbetsy

Indulging in the delights of spinning, dyeing and weaving, soap making and gardening

Work Even

An American Knitter in Bulgaria

Moments of Peace

Enjoying the little things in life.

stickgirlknits

Fashion and Hand Knits

alikelylass

Knitting, crochet, food, motherhood, and other general musings in my Likely Life.

Mlissabeth's Musings

six word stories, small stones, haiku, and other poems

reWOLLuzza

ReWOOLutionary Knits

Terras Kreativecke

Alles selbstgemacht